Winnipeg Blue Bombers Jamaal Westerman a triple nominee for CFL team awards

Written by admin on 14/11/2018 Categories: 老域名出售

WINNIPEG —; There wasn’t much outstanding about the Winnipeg Blue Bombers 2015 season, but defensive end Jamaal Westerman cleaned up when the outstanding player team nominees were announced by the CFL on Thursday.

Westerman, 30, in his first year with the Bombers was voted the teams Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player and Most Outstanding Canadian Player. Westerman was also a unanimous selection for the top Canadian nomination.


Westerman’s 15 sacks is second only to the Montreal Alouettes John Bowman who has 16 sacks. Westerman has also registered 59 defensive tackles in his first season in the CFL.

Stanley Bryant was named the Blue Bombers nominee for Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman.  Troy Stoudermire took Most Outstanding Special Teams honours and linebacker Khalil Bass garnered the nomination for Most Outstanding Rookie.

Bass led the Bombers with 93 defensive tackles which is fifth best in the league.

Stoudermire had a slow start to the season but with one game left he has 1,640 combined yards, fourth highest in the CFL.

The East and West Division winners for the 2015 Shaw CFL Awards will be announced on Thursday, November 12. And the winners will be announced at the annual CFL awards ceremony during Grey Cup week on November 26 at the Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg.

Complete List of CFL team nominees

B.C. Lions

Player: Adam Bighill
Defensive: Adam Bighill*
Canadian: Andrew Harris*
Offensive Lineman: Jovan Olafioye
Special Teams: Chris Rainey
Rookie: Jonathon Jennings

Edmonton Eskimos

Player: Mike Reilly
Defensive: Dexter McCoil
Canadian: Sean Whyte
Offensive Lineman: D’Anthony Batiste
Special Teams: Deon Lacey
Rookie: Derel Walker*

Calgary Stampeders

Player: Bo Levi Mitchell
Defensive: Deron Mayo
Canadian: Junior Turner
Offensive Lineman: Spencer Wilson
Special Teams: Rene Paredes*
Rookie: Tory Harrison

Saskatchewan Roughriders

Player: Jeff Knox Jr.*
Defensive: Jeff Knox Jr.*
Canadian: Rob Bagg
Offensive Lineman: Brendon LaBatte
Special Teams: Dylan Ainsworth
Rookie: Jeff Knox Jr.*

Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Player: Jamaal Westerman
Defensive: Jamaal Westerman
Canadian: Jamaal Westerman*
Offensive Lineman: Stanley Bryant
Special Teams: Troy Stoudermire
Rookie: Khalil Bass

Hamilton Tiger-Cats

Player: Zach Collaros
Defensive: Simoni Lawrence
Canadian: Ted Laurent
Offensive Lineman: Mike Filer
Special Teams: Brandon Banks
Rookie: Terrence Toliver*

Toronto Argonauts

Player: Trevor Harris*
Defensive: Greg Jones
Canadian: Cleyon Laing
Offensive Lineman: Gregory Van Roten
Special Teams: Brian Rolle
Rookie: Vidal Hazelton

Ottawa RedBlacks

Player: Henry Burris*
Defensive: Damaso Munoz
Canadian: Brad Sinopoli
Offensive Lineman: SirVincent Rogers
Special Teams: Antoine Pruneau
Rookie: Forrest Hightower

Montreal Alouettes

Player: Stefan Logan
Defensive: Winston Venable
Canadian: Luc Brodeur-Jourdain
Offensive Lineman: Jeff Perrett
Special Teams: Stefan Logan
Rookie: Boris Bede*

* Indicates unanimous selection


Comments Off on Winnipeg Blue Bombers Jamaal Westerman a triple nominee for CFL team awards